Free Your Mind News

February 16, 2010

Taurus PT101P Review

Filed under: Uncategorized — Liberatus @ 4:17 pm

Ok, so we’ve got a basic overview and review of the Taurus PT101P. Bear with my review, i’m not writer so you’ll have to deal with my lackluster writing skills. The PT101/PT101P is basically a modernized clone of the Beretta 96FS, made in Brazil on machines purchased from Beretta many moons ago.

user posted imageWe’ll start with a basic overview of the PT101 and PT101P.

Biggest differences between the PT101 and PT101P is the finger grooves on the lower frame, different adjustable sights, and 16 round magazines instead of the standard PT101/96FS 12 round magazine (the standard PT101 does NOT accept 96FS magazines). As you can tell from the picture, the 16 round P magazines have a grip extension similar to a Pearce grip extension which is why they hold the extra capacity. On top of that, the P models grip is a bit larger in diameter than the standard PT101, which I believe is identical in dimensions to the 96FS.

The PT101 differs from the 96FS in a few ways. The PT101 features a light/accessory rail and the 96FS does not. Out of the box, the 96FS trigger is a tad better than the PT101/PT101P’s trigger, however they both require some fluff and buff (or a bunch of dry-firing or shooting) to be truly where I would like them. I would rate the 96FS trigger at a 8/10 and the PT101/PT101P at a 7/10.

I have no sources to quote, but I am nearly positive the PT101P is an Academy Sports exclusive. I have not seen them for sale anywhere else, and when they were listed on the Taurus USA website, it said “Academy Sports and Outdoors Exclusive Model” at the bottom of the page. The PT101P is no longer listed on the Taurus website, but i’m assuming since they have them at Academy’s nationwide in mass quantity that they are still in production.Fit and Finish

The slide to frame fit on the Taurus is excellent. Lock up is tight and the tolerances are very tight. With that said, the 96FS is a bit better made (American made 96FS, not Italian which is even more superior). The finish on the Taurus is inferior to the Beretta’s, but I have seen several reviews saying that they believe the PT-92 and PT-101 have a better finish than the 92FS/96FS. Now, take into account that the PT101P’s price point is less than the standard PT101, at $379. It’s quite frequently on sale, or as marketed by Academy “special price”. That price is $299. Amazing value, however, I believe the finish on the PT101P isn’t as nice as the standard PT101 or PT-92. The standard PT101 goes for around ~$469 retail.

The main differences I have noticed between the PT101 and PT101P are as already noted, the PT101P has a larger frame with slightly wider magazines with the grip extension. I know of no model of the PT101 that accepts the wider 16 round magazines, somebody correct me if i’m wrong because the Taurus USA websites leaves much to be desired. The PT101P also has the aformentioned finger grooves in the frame, which is a personal thing, it would depend on your hand and prefernces. I personally think they are awesome.

The factory grip panels on the PT101P are the same as the PT101, which are very cheesy. The 96FS grip panels are far superior. Either way, I would have been replacing the grip panels on the 96FS OR the PT101 with Hogue rubber panels (which are now discontinued are hard to find, PM me for links) to improve the grip.Function and Accuracy

At a recent range trip (when I was looking into a 92FS) I test fired a 92FS, 96FS, PT-92 and PT101. I preferred the 9mm package of the 92FS, but the PT-92 is a superb firearm for quite a bit less money. All of them fed crappy reloads perfectly, handled the recoil of their respective calibers the same, and all had exactly the same accuracy. The models I fired were range rentals and had been shot quite a bit, and I could tell NO difference whatsoever in the triggers and accuracy between the models. They all shot very well.A few more differences between the Beretta and Taurus

The frame mounted safety/decocker of the PT101 is far easier to operation and placed in a much better way than the 92FS/96FS. I don’t know what Beretta was thinking when they went to slide mounted safeties. The newer generation 92FS/96FS’s have plastic guide rods, plastic triggers and a few plastic innards. None of these parts are plastic on the PT101, in fact the only plastic to be seen on the PT101P is the cheesy stock grip panels and the grip extension. For a gun with a starting price point of a bit more than 50% of the price, it’s nice to not see a bunch of plastic. I don’t think any of these things affect the operation but I prefer metal over plastic if I was given the choice.

I think that about sums it up. I’d rate the Taurus a solid 7/10 for the value it offers compared to the Beretta. I have seen quite a few people online with 20k+ on their PT-92’s or PT-101’s, and quite a few Berettas with the same. Taurus has poor customer service but offers a lifetime warranty which you wont get with the Beretta. Taurus guns are pretty hit and miss, but I don’t think you can go wrong with any model starting in PT or a 1911 model. I won’t vouch for the others..

For $299 new, you can’t go wrong. Expect near Beretta quality, inferior magazines and grip panels and finish, but for the money, a killer value.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.